How to disable Telegram in 5 steps

Telegram is one of the best messaging apps you can use today. It is secure, full of features, receives updates frequently and can be much better than WhatsApp, its main rival. Even so, it may not be ideal for everyone, especially if most of your friends don't use the app, for example. For this or other reasons, you may prefer to disable Telegram and simply stop using it on your smartphone.

The good news is that it's pretty simple to disable Telegram overall. To learn how to do this in a few steps, you can check out our tips in the tutorial below!

How to disable Telegram

Unlike apps like Facebook Messenger or TikTok, the option to disable Telegram is not in the app itself. Instead, we have to go to the official app deactivation page.

You can access it through the following link. The whole process can be performed on the web browser of your smartphone or PC.

Step 1: To get started, go to the deactivation site and enter your number in the blank field asking for the phone. They ask you to enter the number in international format, so you must enter the +55 and area code followed by the mobile number. Click on "Next."

How to disable Telegram

Step 2: As soon as you do this, you will receive a special code for Telegram. This is to make sure it is the right number and that you are authorized to disable this account. Go to the app and get this code.

verification code

Step 3: Enter the code you received in the blank field below the deactivation page and click "Sign In."

disable telegram code

Step 4: You will then see a warning about what it means to disable your account. You can still type in why you want to stop using the app in the larger blank field below.

Step 5: When you finish reading and are still sure you want to disable the app, click “Delete my account”.

delete telegram account

Ready! Pretty simple to disable, isn't it ?! Fortunately, that is all you need to do to permanently disable Telegram.

Should I disable Telegram?

This option is much more recommended for those who don't really want to use the app in the future. After all, this erases all your messages.

Other than that, the groups / channels you have created will be owned by their administrators. It is also not possible to retrieve old content if you decide to reuse Telegram.

The good news is that you can create a new account with the same number if you want. You will only have the inconvenience of having to start your conversations and join all the groups again.

Of course, if you just want to spend some time without using the App, it might be best to just uninstall it and come back when you're done.

Did you like the tips?

Could you take our tips to learn how you can disable Telegram quickly? So don't forget to leave your comment telling us what you think and if there are any other app tips you'd like to see here.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *